General Information Of Providence Township

Providence Township is located in the Southwestern corner of Lucas County covering an area of approximately 26 square miles. The area is predominately a rural agricultural and residential community and includes the unincorporated communities of Neapolis, Bailey and Providence. The Township Building is located at 13257 Perry Road, between Manore and Jeffers Roads, in a central location in the Township.
The Township is governed by 3 elected officials, called Trustees, which are elected for a 4 year staggered term and a Fiscal Officer (Clerk) is also elected which is likewise, a 4 year term. The Trustees work in conjunction with the Lucas County Commissioners, which are also elected for a 4 year staggered term.

The Township maintains a Zoning Commission and a Zoning Appeals Board, all members are appointed by the Trustees to the boards and their terms are also staggered. The Zoning Commission works in conjunction with the Lucas County Planning Commission. Currently, half of the Township is Zoned and the other half is Unzoned.

The Township employs a Zoning Inspector, 3 full time Maintenance Personnel, a full time Fire Chief, several part time Fire Personnel and the rest of the Fire Department is made up of Volunteers, that are all much greatly appreciated.
Currently, Providence Township has a population of roughly 3,500 people, however, the area is rapidly growing and this number changes monthly. Providence Township maintains roughly 40 miles of roads. The rest of the Township consists of roughly 35 miles of County roads and 11 miles of State roads.


The Township is bordered by the Village of Grand Rapids and Wood County to the South across the Maumee River, Henry County to the West and Fulton County to the Northwest. Swanton Township and the Village of Whitehouse are to the North of Providence Township and Waterville Township is to the East. Due to the lack of major shopping, school, post office and employment centers in the Township, most residents conduct these activities in the surrounding municipalities of Whitehouse, Waterville, Grand Rapids, Liberty Center and Swanton.